Maryland Parental Leave Act
Effective October 2014, the Maryland Parental Leave Act allows eligible employees to take up to 6 weeks of unpaid parental leave during any 12-month period for the birth of the employee’s child or the placement of a child with the employee for adoption or foster care. The law applies to private employers that employ at least 15 but not more than 49 employees in Maryland for each working day during each of 20 or more calendar workweeks in the current or preceding calendar year.
In order to be eligible for the parental leave, the employee must have been employed by the employer for at least a 12-month period and have worked 1,250 hours during the previous 12 months. The employee must also be employed at a worksite at which at least 15 employees work within a 75-mile radius. Any paid leave provided by the employer may be substituted for the unpaid parental leave at either the employer’s or the employee’s option. Employees taking parental leave must be maintained under the employer’s group health plan for the duration of the leave. After taking leave, the employee must be returned to his or her previous position or to an equivalent job.
If you have any questions, please contact your WGA’s Compliance Team at firstname.lastname@example.org.