California Sick Pay Act Effective July 1st, 2015
Effective July 1, 2015, California employers will be required to provide paid sick leave to their employees according to the California Sick Pay Act (Act). In order to be eligible for paid sick leave, an employee must have worked for 30 or more days within a year from the commencement of employment. An employee will be entitled to use accrued paid sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment. An employee may accrue up to 48 hours or 6 days in a year.
Employers must give employees written notice detailing the amount of paid sick leave available and provide each new hire a written notice containing information on the right to accrue and use sick leave. Also, employers must display a poster containing the information in a conspicuous place. The state should have model notices to utilize as the effective date of the Act nears. Employers with a paid leave policy in place do not have to provide additional paid sick days as long as the policy meets the requirements of the Act.
If you have any questions, please contact your WGA’s Compliance Team info@WGAins.com.